Gabon: 3: Jungle Forests and a Peace Corps volunteer

Standard

Reading about countries in Africa as someone who grew up outside of Africa, I’m very conscious of voice, perspective, and the view point of authors – particularly those writing about places that I haven’t yet been or that I don’t know too much about. As I’m reading more and more about Africa I’m enjoying the different perspectives of authors. So I’m trying to extend out the challenge to read more than just one book about each of the countries in Africa. However, this will prove to be a tall order. So in some cases its just going to have to be one.

IMG_0793

which book to choose??

For the Gabon – a country in Central/West Africa – there isn’t a vast selection of books on offer. In the end I chose Glimpses through the Forest: Memories of Gabon written by an American Peace Corps volunteer who lives and worked in the Gabon for 3 years between 2004-2007. I’ve read a few Peace Corps authored books (which will feature later) and generally find them very accessible introductions. I’m amazed by some of the locations that these volunteers live in for a number of years and their relationships with local communities are often fascinating.

The only thing I really knew about the Gabon is that it is host to a large rainforest, and is a former French colony. I’ve only ever met 1 person who has been in Gabon. They said it was pretty amazing. As this author was working in the field of environmental sustainability I was looking forward to hear about this aspect of Gabon.

I’m not sure if I am overly critical, but I was a bit disappointed with this book. I’ve read much on the Democratic Republic of the Congo (post to come soon!) and find many of the books provide a real sense of life in the Congo – how people live, the different cultures and ethnic groups, how politics (or lack of politics/government) affects peoples lives, legacies of colonialism and recent history. I didn’t get much of this in Glimpses – but on the positive, it made me want to read more on the Gabon.

The book is essentially short snippets of this volunteer’s life in Gabon. A whole chapter is dedicated to often everyday things – like manioc. There is a lot about relationships with people in the village, but these don’t go particularly deep, nor do they develop over the life of the book so its hard to get a real sense of the people there.

What was good was the description of events in the lagoon, on the beach tracking turtles, and of the author’s encounters with hippo and elephant. While I found some of the language a bit over the top and awkward – it is a pretty quick and easy read.

The feeling I got after reading this book was still of a tourist, a traveller. And while its hard to get beyond that as a Westerner in traditional African communities it left me wanting to hear more.

The book I want to read is this one. Maybe I’ll find more time throughout the year to update this post on Gabon. But for now, its time to move on.

memaMema’s sharp tongue and apparent barrenness makes her a target for dislike and disapproval in her village. When she finally succeeds in having four children, her husband dies in a witchdoctor’s haven, followed by her daughters. Her in-laws accuse her of being a wicked witch who sacrificed her husband and children to the dark forces. In spite of this Mema’s strength and courage cause her to fight for her sons and her family’s rights. In this story of a practical African society her actions owe nothing to Western feminism and the theme of struggle against colonialism is left behind in favour of a struggle between new and old values. The author demonstrates that a story relating the impact of psychological and social forces on Africans can also focus mainly on conflicts within African society.

Do you know of a good book about the Gabon? Please message me!

Leave a comment